Home >Awards > Ramesh Agarwal Award

The IETI Ramesh Agarwal Lifetime Achievement Award in Science, Engineering, or Technology stands as a global beacon of excellence, commemorating individuals whose lifelong contributions in research, education, and service have monumentally advanced the fields of engineering and technology. This award not only celebrates achievements but also inspires future generations to pursue excellence in their endeavors.

About Ramesh K. Agarwal:
Professor Ramesh K. Agarwal is the President of International Engineering and Technology Institute (IETI), he is an internationally renowned scientist who has made seminal and high impact contributions in various disciplines within the broad fields of mechanical & aerospace engineering, and energy and environment which include computational fluid dynamics and aerodynamics, computational electromagnetics and acoustics, control theory, turbomachinery and pumps, chemical looping combustion, carbon capture and sequestration, and wind energy. He is currently the William Palm Professor of Engineering in the department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science at Washington University in St. Louis. He is the author and coauthor of over 600 publications. He has given many plenary, keynote and invited lectures at various national and international conferences worldwide in over sixty countries. He is a Fellow of 26 professional societies including American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Physical Society (APS) and American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). He is a Distinguished Fellow of International Engineering & Technology Institute, Honorary Fellow of ASME and Honorary Fellow of Royal Aeronautical Society and a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts. He has received many prestigious honors and national/international awards from various professional societies and organizations including the AIAA Reeds Aeronautics Award & SAE Medal of Honor.

How to be the award winner?
Eligibility: Nominees for this prestigious award must be senior researchers with significant lifetime achievements in research, education, and service that have substantially advanced engineering and technology disciplines.
Submission Requirements: A comprehensive resume and a concise biography (up to 400 words) are required, alongside five or more representative research papers that highlight the nominee's contributions to their field.
Nomination Process: Candidates for this accolade must be nominated by two senior researchers, acknowledging the nominee's outstanding contributions and leadership in their domain.
Selection: Annually, 1 to 2 individuals are honored with this award, selected for their unparalleled contributions to the advancement of science, engineering, or technology. In instances where nominees closely match the criteria, the selection committee may choose the candidate(s) with the highest alignment to the award's standards.

Important Dates
For information on nomination deadlines, the selection process, and the announcement of awardees, please refer to our latest announcement. This ensures all participants and nominators are well-informed of the IETI Ramesh Agarwal Lifetime Achievement Award's prestigious legacy and the critical timelines for submission.

2025 Announcement

Nominations are invited for the 2025 year. The deadline for nominations is on October 31 2024. Please send the nomination package by email to info#ieti.net. The awardee will be announced before January 31 2025.

2023 IETI Ramesh Agarwal Lifetime Achievement Award in Science, Engineering or Technology Winner(s):

Peng Shi, The University of Adelaide, Australia
News: https://www.ieti.net/news/detail.aspx?id=327

2024 2nd IETI Ramesh Agarwal Lifetime Achievement Award in Science, Engineering or Technology Winner(s):

Ng Yin Kwee, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
News: https://www.ieti.net/news/detail.aspx?id=351

Annual Scientific Award
Green Award
Ramesh Agarwal Award
Young Researcher Award
PhD Award
Best Paper Award